Marvel’s Phase 4 Films

On July 20, 2019, Marvel Studios’ president, Kevin Feige, unveiled the line-up of the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s phase four at the 2019 San Diego Comic-Con. The timeline consists of five films spanning from 2020 to 2021. Cate Shortland’s highly anticipated Black Widow film will begin phase 4 in telling Natasha Romanoff’s story after Captain America: Civil War. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, which will be released in February 2021, garnered praise and excitement from fans for being the first ever Marvel movie that will have an Asian lead. Canadian actor and filmmaker, Simu Liu will be starring in the film alongside Awkwafina and Tony Leung Chiu-wai. The announcement of the Eternals cast revealed one of the most diverse casts in Marvel’s history. In addition, the fourth installment of the Thor franchise that will be directed by Taika Waititi, Thor: Love and Thunder, will introduce Mighty Thor, Jane Foster. The movie is set to be released in late 2021 and will feature both Thor and Mighty Thor. Feige also confirmed Doctor Strange 2, Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, which is said to be the first ever MCU horror film starring Benedict Cumberbatch as Doctor Strange and Elizabeth Olsen as Scarlet Witch. 

By Joylyn Gong

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s