2019 Women’s Soccer World Cup

This past summer, the Women’s World Cup took place in France. The favorites and defending champions, the United States won the tournament again, defeating the Netherlands 2-0 behind goals from Megan Rapinoe and University of Wisconsin alumni Rose Lavelle. On their way to becoming champions once again, the United States, in group F, defeated Thailand 13-0 (including 5 goals from Alex Morgan), Chile 3-0 (2 goals from Carli Lloyd), and Sweden 2-0. In the knockout stage, the U.S. defeated Spain 2-1, France 2-1, England 2-1, and then the Netherlands. For the tournament awards, Megan Rapinoe won the Golden Ball as the best player in the tournament. Lucy Bronze, from England, won the Silver Ball, and Rose Lavelle won the bronze ball, as the 2nd and 3rd best players in the tournament, respectively. Rapinoe also took home the Golden Boot, as the top goal scorer. What made that award special this year was that the winners of the Silver and Bronze Boots, Alex Morgan (USA) and Ellen White (ENG), scored the same amount of goals as Rapinoe, but they had less assists, which is used by FIFA as the tiebreaker. Sari Van Veenendaal from the Netherlands took home the Golden Glove award as the best goalkeeper. Giulia Gwinn won the FIFA BesYoung Player award (best player under 21), and France won the FIFA Fair Play award as the team with the best “fair play” in the tournament.

– Nic Braico

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s